Revised World Market Desk

I found this lovely solid desk at a community garage sale back in October. It was meant to be a vanity for my then 15 yr…. old now 16. to replace this one. 

but alas, I did not get to the project and my husband took the legs off so it would store easier in the garage. 

She spotted a few she liked at the local vintage market  (fhttps://www.Facebook.com/CottageCharm951)I frequent and also happens to carry the chalk paint I currently use in my projects. http://maisonblanchepaint.com/pages/about.htm 

Of course the prices are a bit more than this restorer, reviser, refinisher wants to pay but we will keep looking. 

So after she passed on the vanity some 6 months later, I set out to restore it. 

I love all of Miss Mustard Seed’s revisions, especially those with the stained top and painted base. Like this one. 

http://pinterest.com/pin/206110120419141188/

 After spending some time with my orbital sander with 100 grit sandpaper and the top of the desk, I realized this called for reinforcements. The shabby white latex paint liked it’s home and was reluctant to leave it. 🙂

So out came the stripper ( furniture stripper, that is) I didn’t take during shots. I get involved in the process and don’t pause enough. (working on that ) .

Soooo. here is the end result. 

She was sanded with 120 grit sandpaper after the stripper did it’s work, then twice with 220 grit sandpaper to make sure the finish was smooth. 3 coats of MinWax Dark Walnut followed and finished off with 2 coats of hemp oil. 

 

The base was a custom mix of Annie Sloan Duck Egg and Provence with a seal of clear and dark wax to make a light brown wax

She is beautiful and ready for a new home.. I will take good care of her while she is still with me. ::)))

 

This entry was published on July 15, 2013 at 11:50 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

